Associated Students

A.S. Government Resources

Legislation & Resolutions
Associated Students | San Diego State University

A Resolution in Support of a Nine Square Mile Marine Reserve in South La Jolla

Author: Green Love Sustainability Advisory Board

Notice of Action:
Wednesday, April 28 – 3:30 p.m. – The Backdoor, Aztec Center

WHEREAS, the Associated Students of San Diego State University is the representative body and the official voice of the students at San Diego State University (SDSU); and

WHEREAS, it is the mission of Associated Students to represent, serve and protect the collective interest of the approximate 32,000 students attending SDSU; and

WHEREAS, students of SDSU have shown a commitment to take a stewardship role in environmental sustainability on campus and within the San Diego community; and

WHEREAS, in 1999, the State of California passed the Marine Life Protection Act; a law signed by Governor Gray Davis calling on the State to create a science-based network of the marine protected areas (MPAs) along the California Coast to be ultimately determined by the Fish and Game Commission; and

WHEREAS, the San Diego coastal ecosystems, especially La Jolla, are some of the most unique and rich underwater ecosystems along the Southern California coast; and

WHEREAS, South La Jolla is home to one of the most biodiverse and biologically productive marine ecosystems found in Southern California. Its giant kelp forests, rocky reefs and deep submarine canyons provide food and shelter for Sheephead, Leopard shark, Garibaldi, and a plethora of other plants and animals; and

WHEREAS, these exceptional and fragile ecosystems are at risk from over fishing, climate change, and habitat destruction such that historic kelp beds in Southern California have been reduced by over 80 percent over the past 100 years. ; and

WHEREAS, the process to create the Southern California marine protected area network began 18 months ago with the creation of the Blue Ribbon Taskforce (BRTF) by the Fish and Game Commission. The BRTF consisted of five policy advisors tasked with creating a proposal in collaboration with and on behalf of the public; and

WHEREAS, the BRTF conducted 12 public meetings and accepted and considered feedback from more than 64 regional stakeholders, science advisory team members and more than 1,500 members of the public at large; and

WHEREAS, the MPA proposal, known as the Integrated Preferred Alternative (IPA), specifically recommended by the BRTF to the Fish and Game Commission in December of 2009, has fallen short of the scientific guidelines as outlined in the Marine Life Protection Act; and

WHEREAS, the current proposed protection for south La Jolla in the IPA of seven square miles is two miles short of the minimum size required and far from the 9 square miles recommended by science to be an effective marine protected area ; and

WHEREAS, marine protected areas, in particular marine reserves are the key to protecting our local coastal economies and preserving our environment for future generations; therefore, be it

RESOLVED that the Associated Students at SDSU urges the Fish and Game Commission to protect San Diego’s coastal economies and unique ecosystems by adopting a MPA network that includes the scientifically necessary nine square mile minimum sized marine protected area in south La Jolla; and further be it

RESOLVED that the Associated Students at SDSU stands with San Diego Coastkeeper and its allies in an attempt to educate and build support for a science-based marine reserve in south La Jolla among the students of SDSU; and further be it

RESOLVED that the Associated Students at SDSU stands in support of efforts to create a more socially, economically, and environmentally sustainable community; and finally be it

RESOLVED that this resolution is to be distributed widely including, but not limited to Mayor Jerry Sanders, San Diego City Council President Ben Hueso, San Diego City Council President Pro Tem Kevin Faulconer, San Diego City Councilmember Marti Emerald, San Diego City Councilmember Donna Frye, San Diego City Councilmember Carl DeMaio, San Diego City Councilmember Tony Young, San Diego City Councilmember Todd Gloria, San Diego City Councilmember Sherri Lightner, California State Senator Christine Kehoe, California State 78th District Representative Marty Block, USA Greenpeace, San Diego Coastkeeper, the College Area Community Council, San Diego State University President Stephen Weber, and the San Diego State University Senate Sustainability Committee.

NOTICE OF 3rd HEARING and ACTION: The 3rd Public Hearing and Action of this Legislative Matter will be held on Wednesday, April 28, 2010 at 3:30 pm in the Aztec Center, Backdoor. If there are any questions regarding this matter, please contact the Council Secretary at 619-594-6555. Public Communication Requests may be submitted to the Council Secretary before 3:30 p.m. on said date. This information is available in alternative formats upon request. To request a copy in Braille or cassette, or to request a sign language interpreter for the meeting, call Meeting Services at 594-5278 at least ten (10) working days prior to the meeting to ensure availability. Assistive Listening Devices (ALD’s) are available for the meeting upon request