Meeting Minutes
Associated Students | San Diego State University

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 - 4:30pm
Council Chambers • Conrad Prebys Aztec Student Union


Executive Vice President Vanessa Girard called the meeting to order at 4:52 PM.



  1. Voting Members Present: Vanessa Girard, Chimezie Ebiriekwe, Carmel Alon, Chris Thomas, Hayden Willis, Joshua Miller, Anya Shutovska, Kyla Blaylock, Brie Hornig (left early), Dustin Adkins, Sedona Hill, Sabrina Laut (late), Nubia Milpas (left early), Mitchell Nishimoto (late), Nicole Becker, Luke Fishman, Charlotte Roberts (late), Nickolas Wohlman, George Scott, Mary Staka, Beck Svensson (left early), Noah Winne, Hunter Young.
  2. Voting Members Absent: Chloe Sabio.
  3. Ex-Officios (non-voting) Present: Aileen Wei.
  4. Ex-Officios (non-voting) Absent: Dr. Randy Timm, Sam Emami, Christina Brown.
  5. Visitors Present: Christian Onwuka.


It was moved and seconded to approve the agenda of April 18, 2018


It was moved and seconded to approve the previous minutes.


  1. Christian Onwuka expressed his gratefulness to Associated Students for funding and support and discussed the lack of attendance of A.S. leaders at the Black Resource Center Open House. 


  1.  SDSU Vice President of Student Affairs Designee, Randy Timm: None.


  1. General Consent Agenda: (Action)
    It was moved and seconded to approve the General Consent Agenda, as attached.


  1. Vanessa Girard, Executive Vice President:
    1. Discussed the Mission Valley Site Plan.
    2. Reminded members to consider the time and location of next semester’s meetings.
    3. Gave an update on the Campus Safety Committee.
    4. Aztec Achievement Awards will be tomorrow from 4:30-7 pm.
  2. Chimezie Ebiriekwe, President:
    1. None. 
  3. Carmel Alon, Vice President of External Relations:
    1. Will continue promoting the “Rock the Vote” campaign. She encouraged members to register to vote for the Primary Elections.
  4. Hayden Willis, Vice President of Financial Affairs:
    1. The consolidated 2018-2019 budget has been completed.
    2. Extremely grateful for his journey in Associated Students.
    3. Turbotax extended their tax return deadline.
  5. Chris Thomas, Vice President of University Affairs:
    1. None.
  6. Brie Hornig, ASBOD Student-at-Large:
    1. The Economic Crisis Response Team (ECRT) Marketing subcommittee would like to connect with students on Tuesday from 3-4:15 pm in Student Services West.
  7. Josh Miller, ASBOD Student-at-Large:
    1. Proud of CLC members!
  8. Anya Shutovska, ASBOD Student-at-Large:
    1. Served on the Appointments and Review committee. She is excited for next year’s Board of Directors Student-at-Larges and Judicial Affairs Council members.
  9. Christina Brown, Executive Director:
    1. Proud of CLC members and their accomplishments this year.
  10. Aztec Student Union Board:
    1. Congratulations to Kyla Blaylock, next year’s ASUB Commissioner!
    2. The “What I’d Be” showcase was a meaningful time.
    3. Zero Waste Fair and the Clothing Swap will take place on Monday.
    4. There will be a keynote panel next Tuesday at 4 pm.
    5. Open Mic Night will take place next Thursday at 5 pm.
  11. Campus Community Commission:
    1. They will host a jog-a-thon with Hardy Elementary.
    2. The Good Neighbor Clean Up was a success.
    3. There will be an event on April 30 at pm on being a good neighbor to the community.
    4. Congratulations to Mitchell Nishimoto on being selected Commissioner!
  12. Community Service Commission:
    1. The Pickup Trash Beach Bash will be on Saturday at 9 am.
    2. Congratulations to Max Johnson on being selected CSC Commissioner!
    3. Congratulations to Nickolas Wohlman on being elected Executive Vice President of Associated Students!
  13. Recreation and Wellness Commission:
    1. Live Well Aztecs Week was a success. The health panel was very informational.
    2. Congratulations to George Scott, the next Recreation and Wellness Commissioner!
  14. Student Diversity Commission:
    1. None. 
  15. Student Support Commission:
    1. Meet the ombudsman event will be on April 26 from 11am – 2pm.
    2. Congratulations to Dustin Adkins on being selected SSC Commissioner and Noah Winne for being elected SSC Representative!
  16. Sustainability Commission:
    1. The Ofo Bikeshare has been launched with 860 riders.
    2. Congratulations to Cassie Weinberg for being selected Sustainability Commissioner!
    3. The GreenFest Keynote event will take place Monday and Tuesday from 10am- 2pm.
    4. The Swap Shop will take place on Monday from 11am – 5pm.
    5. The Bike to Campus event was a success.
    6. Gave an update on the weekly swap stops.
  17. Campus Life Council Student-at-Large:
    1. None.
  18. Marketing and Communications Commission:
    1. Excited to be the Campus Life Council student-at-large next year!
    2. Congratulations to Ryan Du for being selected next year’s Marketing and Communications Commissioner.


It was moved and seconded to adjourn the meeting.

Executive President Vanessa Girard adjourned the meeting at 6:29 PM.

APPROVED BY: Vanessa Girard, Executive Vice President

PREPARED BY: Aileen Wei, A.S. Government Secretary